“If You Unfollow Me”

(with apologies to Pablo Neruda)

I want you to know
one thing.

You know how this is:
every time I log
into my account
and look
at my newsfeed,
all that
I see there
is you:
what you’re doing,
who you’re with,
and where you’re going.

Well, now,
if little by little you will stop following me —
stop commenting on my posts
and liking my selfies —
I shall stop following you little by little.

If suddenly
you forget to PM me,
do not bother to talk to me,
for I shall have already forgotten
to PM you.

(If you decide
to unfriend me,
do not bother to inform me,
for I shall have already forgotten
that we were ever friends
to begin with.
I might even say that
I never knew you
but that you look
slightly familiar.)

If you think it long and mad,
the wind of current events
that passes through our lives,
and you decide
to ignore me
because of my political views,
remember
that on that day,
at that hour,
I shall lift my arms
and my feet will set off
to seek other friends
to whom I can share
my beliefs with.

But
if one day,
one hour,
you will feel compelled to reach out to me
with the strength of past camaraderie,
if one day
out of the blue,
your name will suddenly appear
in my notifications,
informing me that you have resumed liking
my photos and my quotes,
ah my friend, ah my BFF,
in me all that fire of friendship is repeated,
in me nothing is extinguished or forgotten,
all is forgiven.
My brotherly and sisterly love feeds on your
brotherly and sisterly love, bes,
and as long as you live
it will be in your possession
without leaving mine.

Leave a Reply

