Ernest Hemingway on listening and observing

“When people talk listen completely. Don’t be thinking what you’re going to say. Most people never listen. Nor do they observe. You should be able to go into a room and when you come out know everything that you saw there and not only that. If that room gave you any feeling you should know exactly what it was that gave you that feeling. Try that for practice. When you’re in town stand outside the theatre and see how the people differ in the way they get out of taxis or motor cars. There are a thousand ways to practice. And always think of other people.”

2 thoughts on “Ernest Hemingway on listening and observing

  1. Reblogged this on Carmen Cacalano and commented:
    This is all good. Except I have to add….I have trouble not thinking about what i”m going to say or what i’ve said. Especially what I’ve said. because for me it becomes a reference. the first one being ME to listen with intent. The first thing your aware of should be You. Because that’s what you are. Sorry, I had a drill on that my whole childhood and early adulthood. But I don”t mean to nit pick. I just wanted to comment on that. because hes totally right. about it all. Its just that That first parts hard for me to do. Its not in my nature. I mean the way people will drill that into other people. especially men into women is definitely something that follows my mind. because some people can do it. and others cant. its not a matter of will power. its with what dynamic works best for the listener. anyway. no hard feelings. totally felt what you said.
    Heres a Reblog
    Carmen

Leave a Reply

