Euthyphro’s Dilemma

The girl crossed her arms over her chest and looked away. The guy looked flustered and, considering that they were in a public place, in full view of all the passengers who were looking out of the bus, also embarrassed.

“Can we go someplace else and talk about this?” he said, self-consciously.

The girl did not answer. She looked unyielding.

“Baby?” he said, in a much lower voice, but we all could read his lips.

She dropped her arms abruptly and faced him. “Don’t you call me that, Eric,” she said. “Don’t you ever call me that.”

“What did I do wrong? My religion was never an issue between us.”

“Just because it wasn’t an issue doesn’t mean it will never be an issue.”

“Yes, but why now?”

“Why now? I’ll tell you. Because now is the best time as any to bring this up. Have you ever heard of the Euthyphro Dilemma?”

“The what?”

“The Euthyphro Dilemma.”

He looked puzzled.

“I was having a dilemma earlier about whether I should stay or walk out of here, and all of a sudden, I remembered the Euthyphro Dilemma,” she said. “For the longest time, I wanted to bring it up because I think it’s a good objection to the Moral Argument for God, but I didn’t want to hurt your feelings, so I kept my mouth shut. Well, now is the best time to tell you that the truth is it undermines the first premise of your favorite argument. That goes to show that you don’t really have a good reason for your religion. None. Your faith, then, is illusory. Just like this “thing” you call our relationship.” She pronounced the word “thing” with evident disgust.

He tried to open his mouth, but he ended up biting his lip.

She looked away again, but this time she trained her sight at our direction. She looked through the dusty window of the bus and caught me looking at her. I quickly averted my gaze.

I allowed a few moments to pass before looking up again at the couple. This time the guy was staring at his boots. Everyone in the bus held their breaths.

“Gosh, I am so stupid,” he exclaimed. “I’m so, so, so stupid.” He repeatedly smacked his forehead with the palm of his hand. “Babe, I have totally forgotten.I am so sorry. Will you ever forgive me? Happy 3rd monthsary!”

Leave a Reply

