Franny and Zooey by J. D. Salinger

Franny and ZooeyZooey Glass is one of the most unpleasant characters I have ever encountered in a work of fiction. He curses a lot, swears a lot, smokes a lot, is confused and confusing, and has a very muddled view of things. So he is impossible to like.

And for that reason I couldn’t like the novel. But I read it quickly because the book is largely made up of dialogues, and I like dialogues more than descriptions of settings and even narratives.

My rating: 1 out of 5 stars.

4 thoughts on “Franny and Zooey by J. D. Salinger

  1. i have to agree. I read this one years ago and walked away unsatisfied. Of course, Salinger wrote that one great book, Catcher in the Rye. Quite enough for one lifetime.

  2. I loved Franny and Zooey, but I also understand that Salinger is not for everyone. F&Z is perhaps best understood in the contenxt of the other Glass family stories, such as Seymoour: An Introduction, Raise High the Roofbeams, Carpenters, and a few other short stories.

Leave a Reply

