“To Luke”

I wish I had a camera
To capture this moment
For this is exactly how I wish you

To remember me
When you become a father
And have kids of your own:

Lying beside you as you
Drift off to sleep,
Your face pressed against my temple.

I can feel your breath on my cheek.
Your left leg is resting
Over my left arm

And your own arms
Are resting over my neck
And under my chin.

When you will have your own
Infants and toddlers,
I want you to do the same.

I want you to lie down next to them,
And offer your arms, neck, and chest
As their pillows and blanket.

2 thoughts on ““To Luke”

Leave a Reply

