“To All My Facebook Friends”

Friend
How long has it been
Since we last
Talked?
I mean
Really talked
If we talked
At all?
What I mean is
And I think you
Will agree with me
On this
What I mean is
A conversation
Mediated by
Social media
Screens and
Profile photos
Isn’t really a
Conversation is it?
I wish we could
Spend
Longer time
Together
Just talking, you know?
Maybe we could
Lie on top
Of a roof at night
And gaze at the
Stars while
Talking about
Our dreams?
Maybe we could
Sit on a bench
Somewhere
Where there are
Trees and ponds
Or lakes and
Children playing
And talk about
Anything and everything
Under the sun?
Write to me
For I’m never online
Let me know
I am just here

12 thoughts on ““To All My Facebook Friends”

  1. I’ve once again deactivated my facebook account for a while. It has always proved to be good therapy! I love the suggestion in your next post (part 2) to write some letters to my friends instead. I have one friend that I’ve been corresponding with – pen to beautiful paper – for thirty years now. I should be doing that with more friends. I’m inspired. Thank you.

    1. Hi,

      Wow, you’ve been writing letters for 30 years! That’s awesome. It’s been years since I last wrote anyone a letter.

      Yes, it’s always very refreshing to unplug from FB and other social media. I deactivate my FB once in a while and it’s so healthy. I get to read more, write more, and do many other meaningful things.

      Thank you so much for stopping by and for dropping me a line! Love your blog.

      Take care,
      Dante

  2. This is wonderful! I am online most of the day. Mostly for work, but also just out of idle boredom. There’s an interesting tradeoff- facebook gives you a *sense* of social connectedness, but it’s not the real deal. It’s amazing what disconnecting yourself can do to make you feel more alive. Thank you for this 🙂

    1. Hi!

      I disconnect myself from Facebook from time to time, and it’s very refreshing. 🙂

      No prob, and thank you so much! Love your blog. 🙂

      Take care,
      Dante

Leave a Reply

