“To All My Facebook Friends” (2)

Aternatively,
We could unplug ourselves
Off Facebook
And start writing
In journals.
Alternatively,
We could write
Each other letters
And make frequent trips
To the post office.
It will take too much of our time,
Of course, but our correspondence
Will be longer
And the pleasure of conversing
Will be drawn out.
Anyway, a conversation
Via social media
Mediated by computer monitors
And profile photos
Isn’t really much of a
Conversation, is it?
Anyway, I want to see your
Handwriting, feel the strokes
Of your pen with my fingers,
And smell the ink and paper.
You don’t have to write and sound
Like Jane Austen, although that would
Be great, as well.
You can write like a cardiologist,
I wouldn’t mind.
There are nuances in our handwriting,
You know.
Alternatively,
We could lie on roof tops
And gaze at the distant galaxies
And talk about our dreams.
Alternatively,
We could sit on a bench
Somewhere where there are trees
And lakes and ponds and children playing.
We could read aloud books or talk about them.
Alternatively,
We could take trips
Along long stretches of highways
In the South or in the West.
Maybe we could visit Dumaguete
Or Bacolod and the quaint towns
In between.
Beaches, shorelines, mountains,
Farms, and old churches –
We could feast our eyes on all of these.
Alternatively,
We could stay inside Spanish-era houses,
Learn their histories, and see if we could
Draw out love stories out of them,
Which we could then bring to life through fiction.
Alternatively,
You could teach me how to play the piano,
Or the violin, or improve my reading habits,
Or elevate my taste in literature and music and art.
Alternatively,
You could teach me how to paint or sketch,
Or how to start a new enterprise and get good at it.
Alternatively,
You could tell me your stories about
How life is in the States, Canada, the Middle East,
Singapore, or Australia.
Alternatively,
We could just do nothing and simply savor
Each other’s company.

651 thoughts on ““To All My Facebook Friends” (2)

  1. “Alternatively,
    We could write
    Each other letters
    And make frequent trips
    To the post office.
    It will take too much of our time,
    Of course, but our correspondence
    Will be longer
    And the pleasure of conversing
    Will be drawn out.”

    Wonderful. I will definitely re-blog this at some point.

    1. When my wife and I were dating, I wrote her letters because I can express my thoughts better on paper than out of my mouth. 34 years later, our correspondences to each other, the handwriting, the words, the mere weight of the paper, it’s all priceless to hold.

    1. Hi Robin,

      Thank you so much for your kind words, and for reblogging my poem!

      Your bio is so impressive! Keep it up! 🙂

      I really, really love your blog! (Boy, that’s a lot of exclamation marks lol). Will be checking back often.

      BTW, where are you from?

      Take care,
      Dante

    1. Hi Stuart,

      Haha! Thank you so much!

      Well, we can always go back to the “old days” anytime we want, by picking up the pen, starting a diary, writing letters, etc. 😀

      Take care,
      Dante

  2. Frighteningly beautiful!
    I’m more convinced than ever after reading your words that we stand on the brink of a mighty change, one that will at first cause pain, but later with a bit of truth-telling around the globe, will bring us to see the true value in all of those ‘little things’ you’ve so eloquently reminded us about!

    thank you…

    1. Hi K’lee L.,

      Thank you so much for your kind words!

      I agree with you. If only more and more people “unplugged” from FB and similar social media platforms, and get into healthier habits like journal and letter-writing, and personal conversations…

      By the way, where are you from?

      Take care,
      Dante

      1. Hi Dante!

        I’m currently living in Northern California here in the states. I call the island of Martinique in the Caribbean ‘home’, but I feel that way about many places I have traveled to!

        We as a ‘human race’ will evolve and eventually see the importance of (re) connecting in a ‘real sense’ only after we pass through what we need to pass through… I hope I’m here to witness it!

        May I ask, where are you from?

        regards,

        K’lee

  3. I love this…and wish this was how the world was…If only we could unplug…

    Anyway, a conversation
    Via social media
    Mediated by computer monitors
    And profile photos
    Isn’t really much of a
    Conversation, is it?

      1. You can…I’ve tried it but it didn’t seem to benefit me as much as I hoped. My friends sont write 😉 I’m in Los Angeles.

  4. I really enjoyed this. 👍 Thanks for putting this into a poem. Now, everybody, just a reminder postage stamps can be purchased at most grocery stores. 😉 Happy correspondence!

  5. Love this post. I’m always very wary of how social media platforms like Facebook “connect” us but create so much distance at the same time. It’s like we peep into other people’s lives … not live in them

    1. Hi Arna,

      Thank you so much!

      It’s very ironic, isn’t it? They do “connect” us, but more often than not, only superficially.

      Yes, I do have that feeling that with FB, we are only “peeping” into other people’s lives.

      Take care,
      Dante

  6. “Alternatively,
    We could take trips
    Along long stretches of highways
    In the South or in the West.
    Maybe we could visit Dumaguete
    Or Bacolod and the quaint towns
    In between.
    Beaches, shorelines, mountains,
    Farms, and old churches –
    We could feast our eyes on all of these.”
    Instead of just dreaming and pinning about them on pinterest! Great poem! People need to remember those days and what it really means to live!

    1. Hi,

      That’s how I felt when I began using WordPress. Just tinker and explore, you’ll get used to it (and have fun with it) soon enough.

      Good luck and thanks for dropping by!

      Take care,
      Dante

      Thank you so much!

      Take care,
      Dante

  7. Thanks for sharing this–it expresses exactly how I feel about social media. I do, in fact, have a friend who writes me Jane Austen-style letters with a fountain pen, and she is one of the great treasures of my existence.

    1. Hi Brenna,

      You’re most welcome! I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

      I have a friend like that, too! I have never received a letter from her before, but I’ve seen what her handwriting looks like — and they are as beautiful as Austen’s! She’s also a very good writer. Come to think of it — she’s like one of Austen’s heroines — she’s what Austen herself might call an “accomplished lady”, for not only does she write well, she also plays the piano and violin very well. And what’s more, she can sketch, paint, and cook! It’s hard to believe she is not a fictional character. 😀

      Take care,
      Dante

    1. Hi Robin,

      Thank you so much! I’m very sorry it took me weeks to “approve” this post; the responses to my poem were overwhelming since it was “Freshly Pressed”. I had to go through over 200 comments! But I enjoyed reading each one; they were so heart-warming and inspiring!

      Take care,
      Dante

      1. Thanks, Robin! 🙂

        I was really blown away by the responses. 😀

        This is what I learned: Writing is not trivial; words matter, art matters, poetry matters.

        My followers have skyrocketed! From about 200, it has ballooned to almost 1, 200. It’s nuts. 😀

        My challenge now is, how will I continue this? How will I continue writing what I hope will be good poetry and fiction? How will I continue capturing beautiful thoughts and experiences and communicate them to people? It’s tough. 😀

      2. One time. I have just started sending my work out a few months ago, after a long, long time of sending no work and not writing poetry at all. I was extremely honored and surprised when I was “Freshly Pressed.” Happy Holidays, Dante! 🙂

      3. I see. 🙂 What’s the title of your poem? 🙂

        It’s so awesome to be “Freshly Pressed”! To receive notifications on your email almost every 5 minutes — it’s so exciting. I hope we can do it again. 😀

        Advanced Merry Christmas! 🙂

      4. Hi Dante! I am so sorry I somehow missed this comment. It is awesome to be “Freshly Pressed.” My poem is “Walking with Medusa,” freshly pressed on about October 24. Yes, it would be wonderful to be freshly pressed again. It is such an honor being chosen the first time. I hope your holidays were great and I wish for you a very happy New Year and a GREAT 2015. 🙂

    1. Hi,

      Congrats! 🙂

      Ironically, I’m still on FB, but I do deactivate my account once in a while, and it’s very refreshing. 🙂

      Take care,
      Dante

  8. I was going to just click “Like” and move on, but that was the whole point, wasn’t it? So, instead I’ll tell you I loved this, it’s beautifully written.

  9. This was so damn good! It’s rare seeing people write letters and all. Hell even our elders are nowadays hooked to Facebook and whatssap and twitter. Wish I could say I was any different, but then I would lying. 😛

  10. Nice poetry. It has been so long since I picked up a pen and sheet of paper to write a letter. I longed for the excitement of receiving a reply in the mailbox.

    Nowadays I only receive letters from the utility company early each month haha. How life has changed.

    1. Hi,

      Me too! It’s been ages since I wrote anyone a letter, and I can’t remember how it felt like to anticipate someone’s letter.

      Thank you so much for dropping by!

      Take care,
      Dante

  11. After looking at a handful of the blog articles on your web page, I truly like your way of writing a blog. I saved it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon. Take a look at my website too and let me know how you feel. Happy Anniversary

  12. I would agree that we live in an over communicated society and I would argue that it has almost become necessary for marketing and building your own online presence. Of course it depends how important this is to you, I have a bias because I pay attention to my klout score. That being said, as a fiction and poetry writer, I liked your poem and can appreciate how just simply enjoying another persons company has seemed to become more difficult. This summer I wrote letters to a friend who was at an air force base. I forget how good pen to paper feels.

    1. Hi Geena,

      Thank you so much for reading my poem and for sharing your thoughts!

      It’s been ages since I last wrote a letter to anyone. I have gotten so used to using computers that I now find it difficult to write long letters using my own hand (my hand gets tired easily). I have also become so accustomed to using my laptop when writing short stories and poems that I always experience “writer’s block” each time I pick up my pen to write fiction or poetry.

      Take care,
      Dante

  13. I used to write little stories about things that were important to me to share with my “friends ” on Facebook. One day I noticed that one of my friends took a selfie showing him holding up a ketchup bottle. That one post of his got more likes and comments than anything I had ever written.
    I haven’t quit writing my stories but I have given up on the idea of putting them out there in a ketchup dominated forum. The stories are happier where they live now.

    1. Hi Mark,

      Lol that’s very funny! 😀 Yes, many people post all sorts of inane stuff on Facebook. I occasionally deactivate my FB account and it always refreshes me. I get to spend more time reading, writing, and doing other more meaningful things.

      Take care,
      Dante

  14. This is great! Yes, I am addicted to my Google and Facebook and texting. Skype and Facebook video chat are a little more personal, but, still puts the screen between you and the person.
    And not even private. There is no such thing as a private conversation anymore, online, on the landline…it’s all recorded somewhere in a huge computer, in case we say something “suspicious”.
    I say we start using tin cans and long strings. Of course, that would be a lot of string, but at least it’s recycling the cans. LOL

    1. Hi Sophia,

      Thank you so much! 🙂

      Are you from Russia? Are you a writer, too? 🙂

      Love your blog (the photos made me hungry lol).

      Take care,
      Dante

      1. Hi Dante! Yes, I am from Russia 🙂 … Yes, I am a writer as well, check out my blog Harboring the Light for poetry and art and The Best Is Yet To Read for book reviews ….where are you from and what got you interested in poetry?)) … Lol
        Sophia

      2. Wow, Russia, awesome! You write in English very well. 🙂

        Sure, will check them out. Can you give me the link to your poetry blog? Thanks!

        I’m from the Philippines. What got me interested in poetry? Well, I’ve always loved words and writing. And my first ever poem was about a girl. 😀

        Dante

      3. Hi Dante, I came to America as a child, and so learned English then )).. The poetry blog is harboringthelight.wordpress.com .. Are you in the US now or in the Philippines?) That’s wonderful that you love writing, so do I!) -Sophia

      4. I see. 🙂

        I’m in the Philippines. Lived here all my life.

        Yes, I do love to write. I cannot not write. I love your blogs! Looking forward to frequenting them. 🙂

        Write on! 🙂

        Take care,
        Dante

  15. this is absolutely stunning. the message is something that is easy to relate with but the strength of its impact is something that one cannot see coming. the bitter reality on the other side of the coin for the many types of lives that are illustrated in this poem.

  16. Reblogged this on Alac&elan and commented:
    there is nothing that could be as honest and realistic as this in relation to our lives being changed by Social media sites. I hope that this will be adaptable for many.

      1. Oh, okay. 🙂

        I don’t understand the language, but the photos are lovely. Are you into photography or is that you on those pictures?

  17. My sentiments exactly!!! I recently deactivated my facebook because I got tired of feeling so disconnected from my friends. People think seeing photographs on social media suffices, but it doesn’t! I crave real life conversations! Oh the nostalgia! Thanks for the post!! ❤

    1. Hi,

      Thank you so much!

      Congrats on quitting Facebook! 🙂 I also deactivate my FB from time to time. It’s very refreshing. 🙂

      I crave real-life conversations, as well.

      Take care,
      Dante

  18. Hello, I enjoyed reading your poem very much! I often find myself far too submerged within the realm technology and I have to disconnect for awhile to regain contact. I don’t know if some people recognize the beauty in physical forms of communication… maybe your poem will help spread the word 😉
    Thanks for the pleasant read!
    Best,
    Tallulah

    1. Hi Tallulah,

      Oh, I’m so glad you like the poem. 🙂

      It’s definitely very refreshing to unplug from social media once in a while (and the Internet, for that matter), and to engage in meaningful activities like reading, writing letters, keeping journals, and having frequent personal conversations with family and friends. 🙂

      Love your blog!

      Thank you so much and take care.

      Dante

      1. Hi Dante!
        Taga Cebu jud ko 😄. I am now in Texas! Asa ka sa Cebu dapit? Amping kai naa baya tawn bagyo.

      2. Kalma lang kaayo ang mga taga cebu sa bagyo. Nanabi man gud daw si Yolanda ni Ruby nga it’s more fun in the Philippines 😃

      3. Lol 😀

        Layo ra mi sa bagyo pero kusog ang hangin dire right now. It has landed in Samar at around 9 and it’s now signal no. 3 in many areas in Samar and Leyte. 😦

        Let’s all pray for our country!

      4. Bitaw five times daw mag landfall. Hagupit jud kaayo. You keep safe. Right now all we have is to cling into our faith that God may protect the people from the nature’s wrath.
        God bless you and your family.

      5. Thanks! 🙂

        Thank God, dili kaayo grabe iyang impact sa Leyte, Samar, and Cebu. Although I’ve heard nga daghan kulang og food didto sa Samar karon. Right now, Ruby is in Luzon, I think.

        God bless you and your family, too! 🙂

  19. Fabulously poetic and very relevant to me this week! I deactivated my Facebook last Tuesday after six years of constant and vacuous exchanges. The alternative is wonderful and highly recommended…….everyone is ringing me/texting me, e-mailing me, and wanting to catch up in person over coffee now that they haven’t seen my latest news in status updates, or gauged my emotional frame of mind from cat memes or buzz feed quizzes! And now they can’t see what I ‘like’ by way of endless preference clicks they’re interested more in what I don’t ‘like’ about being on Facebook (now there’s an irony!). I decided last Tuesday that I don’t want to be ‘on’ Facebook anymore, I want to be ‘on’ life 🙂

    1. Hi Nanna,

      Thank you so much! 🙂

      Congrats on quitting Facebook! Ironically, I’m still on FB, but I deactivate my account from time to time. Life without FB is very refreshing: I get to read and write more, and I get to do more meaningful things. 🙂

      I love your blog! Are you always travelling? 🙂

      Take care,
      Dante

      1. Thanks Dante, wish I was always travelling! we try to have one ‘big’ getaway a year and lots of mini breaks around Australia……making up for lost time because we settled down and bought our first house when we were 19, had two children before my 21st birthday and never had much money for travel in the first two decades of our marriage!!

      2. I see. 🙂

        One big getaway is better than nothing. 🙂 I pray that you and your family will be able to travel more. That is my hope for my own family as well. Right now we are still busy with our business, so we don’t have much time for travel and vacations. Plus, our kids are still too young. Maybe in a year or two we will be able to travel, when the kids are older and we are more financially stable. 🙂

        Dante

    1. Hi,

      Thank you so much!

      Let us all “rage against the machines” by picking up a pen and writing someone a letter. 😀

      Take care,
      Dante

      Take care,
      Dante

      1. You’re welcome! Yes a baby blog, just started this year 🙂

        Sweetareyourwords.wordpress.com

        Happy Holidays!

  20. Let’s go back to the days where we learn an art hey, rather than the latest SEO trick. Sigh. I don’t think we can go back in time, but it is lovely to dream – your post helped me to dream a little. Anna 😀

    1. Hi Anna,

      We can’t go back in time, but we can choose a future where we write one another letters and communicate in more personal ways. 🙂

      Thank you so much for reading my poem and for sharing your thoughts!

      Take care,
      Dante

  21. What a beautiful poem, poignant, sad but lovely. It sits somewhere between nostalgic and futuristic. I hope you don’t mind if I reblog this? Also I would love it if you checked out my page 🙂 i’d like to start putting some poetry up on mine soon!

    1. Hi Ellie,

      “It sits somewhere between nostalgic and futuristic.” Yes! 🙂

      Thank you so much for dropping by! Sure, please reblog it. 🙂

      I’m looking forward to reading your posts!

      BTW, where are you from?

      Take care,
      Dante

      1. Yes, would love to visit the UK in the future. 🙂

        Yes, Cebu is indeed very lovely. We have so many beautiful beaches here, and places that have great historical significance. We were once a colony of Spain for over 300 years, so our culture has a Spanish influence. Wish you could also visit our country in the near future.

        Freelance work, that’s great. 🙂

        We’re into the trucking/hauling business. 🙂

      2. Brilliant! Maybe one day I’ll make it to Cebu, it sounds beautiful. Good luck in the trucking/hauling business, I imagine writing might be a pleasant break for you from that industry!

      3. Yes, very much so! 🙂

        Is your freelance work related to writing?

        Yes, I do hope you can visit us someday.

        BTW, I just love everything about your culture! I love your language, accent, and history. I’m a huge Jane Austen fan, I love P. G. Wodehouse, I love period dramas (especially adaptations of Austen’s novels), and I love the Beatles. I really prefer British lit to American lit hahaha.

      4. Yep I’m getting as much writing experience as possible! Haha we do have an intriguing culture, but you definitely too. I’ve found myself leaning towards American lit recently….strange how we shift isn’t it!

      5. Hahaha! You prefer American lit, and I prefer British lit! Interesting! 😀

        Check out Philippine literature, too. We have a lot of great writers who write in English. Jose Rizal, F. Sionil Jose, Dean Francis Alfar, and many, many others. 🙂

        Do you write fiction and poetry? 🙂

  22. Well said, technology has definitely silenced us. Even laughs and smiles has minimized to “lol” or “lmao”. Human interaction is absolute. Technology has definitely made every thing far too easy.

      1. Hi Dante,

        Thank so much also for inspiring words. I actually asked for my friends to instead write letters to each other after reading your poem. We ended up sending emails… *_* (Note : they considered it as still ‘letters’ as we often just ‘chats’ in our WA group.)
        We maintained e-letters for two days then back to ‘chats’. LOL!

    1. Hi Lena,

      I, too, miss those days! There was nothing like it. It was more personal and exciting. I think the art of letter writing is still at our disposal.

      Thank you so much for dropping by!

      Take care,
      Dante

  23. I think the last part of this is so important. We put so much pressure on doing something that we paralyze ourselves. Like if the plan isn’t brilliant enough we may as well just stay home. But how wonderful to just sit with another person. To just breathe them in.

    1. Hi Ruby,

      I love the idea of just sitting next to a friend, or just being with him or her, without necessarily talking. I love real conversations, but I also enjoy simply savoring the presence of a friend or loved one.

      Thank you so much for dropping by! Love your blog.

      Take care,
      Dante

  24. Incredibly powerful and well-written. As a millennial raised with technology, I recognize that we have become far too dependent on its presence. Thank you for sharing – I look forward to more posts!

    1. Hi Erin,

      You’re most welcome! And thank you for dropping by and sharing your thoughts.

      I’m glad I discovered your blog! I look forward to reading your posts, as well.

      Take care,
      Dante

  25. whats not eager to learn, one will never b eager to teach. how can we meet half way when true communication is evasive to most. for the ones that embrace true value in speech r the ones we search to keep around

  26. Love this – your poem expresses exactly how I feel about social media, the internet in general, and how it seems to control us, rather than us control it….it seems that in the bid to improve the ‘freedom and speed of communicating[, we have actually lost the art of how to communicate…or do things in life that don’t involve staring at a computer screen.

    1. Hi,

      And hello from the Philippines! Switzerland is such a beautiful country! But I’ve never been there. 🙂

      Thank you so much for dropping by!

      Take care,
      Dante

  27. I needed to read this. I have been thinking the same thoughts recently, and need to regain control of my own habits with social media. Thank you!

  28. Wonderful …just the other day,I was saying most of this things to a friend…Of course not that poetically!! I think she might actually like this 🙂 my version kinda bored her off!! 😛

    1. Hi Marisol,

      Thank you so much for dropping by!

      It’s been years since I last wrote a letter. Would love to write one one of these days.

      Take care,
      Dante

  29. What a beautiful poem! It’s so easy to get entangled in social media sometimes and lose track of time. So much time… Time you could have spent doing any number of the lovely things you described here. I really enjoyed this piece, thank you for sharing!

    1. Hi Kati,

      Thank you so much! Truly appreciate your kind feedback.

      I occasionally unplug myself from Facebook (deactivate my account) for a few weeks or months, and I find it very refreshing. I discover that I become more productive without Facebook — I get to read more, write more, and live better.

      Take care,
      Dante

    1. Hi Caleb,

      Thank you so much!

      Do you often write letters? I occasionally deactivate my FB account. It’s been years since I last wrote a letter.

      Take care,
      Dante

      1. By the way I noticed you had an avatar of Bob Dylan in the upper left-hand corner of the page, I like it. If you would like some great surreal prose by Bob Dylan himself, check out “Tarantula”.

      2. I’m a fan! 🙂

        Is that a novel? I’ve heard of it but I haven’t read it yet. I haven’t found a copy of the book. Will look for an ebook version. Thank you!

      3. It is a collection of sub conscious short stories he wrote. Could be called sub conscious prose poetry too. It really lets you see how Dylan thinks. Tarantula is like taking Allen Ginsberg, William Burroughs and Jack Kerouac poems and giving them a Bob Dylan twist. I still re-read it because of how well written it is.

  30. your poem (?) is greatly speaking my biggest concern about facebooking eloquently. i left fb last month for a while..who knows maybe forever…

  31. This has been my thought of late. Blogging is a step in the right direction. And this way I’ll be less likely to jump on bandwagons for causes that, in essence, are meaningful ones — but really don’t resound in my spirit.

    1. Hi Palmergirl,

      I love blogging more than I love Facebook. In fact, I don’t like Facebook very much, although I still use it. Occasionally, though, I’d deactivate my FB account. It’s very refreshing.

      Thank you so much for dropping by and for leaving a comment.

      Take care,
      Dante

  32. Truly enjoyed reading this, reminded me of my countless rants about technology and how today’s children relie on it. I miss my notebook of scribbles and my crumbled paper balls on the floor. Facebook is not used the way it should be it has become what i like to describe as a “Teenagers story book and a sickos lair”

  33. Under the bed, in a box.
    In envelopes and folders and wrapped in ribbons are notes and cards and letters from the good old days. To hold in my hand and decipher.
    The punctuation, the scrawls, the doodles.
    Faded paper.
    Vibrant stamps from Helvetica and Namibia and Japan.
    How sad am I that my children, their children will never have a box of treasure under the bed.
    A most succinct poem.

    1. Hi,

      Thank you so much! Yes, let us all disconnect ourselves from Facebook, etc. (or at least lessen our dependence on them) and reconnect with each other in deeper and more meaningful ways.

      Take care,
      Dante

  34. Incredible !! Masterpiece !! Really in this era of technology , everybody seems to be online. But actually everyone is so offline , and you really put light on this sort of availability.. thanks 🙂

  35. I love poetry and LOVE writing it! Great Job! I was wondering if you could check my blog, Bleacher Boy. I am a 14 year old blogger and would love to hear feedback. My blog is a kid’s view on all things baseball! If you have any tips, tricks, and criticism, I would love that!
    Thanks!
    -David S.
    http://bleacherboy.mlblogs.com/

    1. Hi David!

      Sorry for the late reply, I’ve been very busy.

      Thank you so much! Sure, would love to visit your blog!

      It’s great that you are already writing at such a young age! Keep it up! 🙂

      Take care,
      Dante

  36. Me likey! Truly, the social media is rubbing most of us of true camaraderie and companionship. We’re all friends but in truth we know nothing about ourselves and have no idea what’s really happening in the lives of our old friends. Don’t get me started on the warmth that abbreviations have removed from texts…

  37. This got me thinking of the box of letters I kept while my boyfriend (now husband) was in college and I was still in high school. Lengthy, fragrant scented pages filled with longing, laughter, daily events…how things have changed. What will my son or daughter keep from their future love? Facebook just doesn’t have the same tactile and treasure like appeal a box of old letters do.

    1. Hi Kelly,

      So true! You’re so lucky to have those letters in your possession. I wish my girlfriend (now wife) and I corresponded through letters when we were still in the courtship phase. 🙂

      Dante

  38. Hi Dante, I reblogged this on my own site, Historical Fiction Addicts, as I know my readers would love the nostalgia of this. (As I came back to read it again myself…second comment.)

      1. No thank you. The post is awesome, well written and it talks about an issue that most people have.
        It talks about how some of us feel about the tech age but lack the words to express so.
        Keep up the good work

  39. There is a feeling of anxiety associated with all correspondence. Waiting for a letter has its own worries and delights, the feeling is prolonged or the waiting is half the pleasure. Digital communication is like summary justice. It reminds me of my own poem, Social Fretworking, here is the opening verse,
    Social fretworking

    I posted a thought,
    it flew away
    down through dark, cavernous
    cyberways,
    to bump and grind
    with other lonesome thoughts
    in the hotbeds of social fretworks.

  40. Thank you, I should say, you could find it from the search button on my site, but, what the hell, here it is,
    I posted a thought,
    it flew away
    through dark, cavernous
    cyberways

    to bump and grind
    with other lonesome thoughts,
    in the hotbeds of social fretworks
    and worried then

    where it might go,
    unguided, misunderstood,
    to liaise, frolic and fret,
    argue, debate,
    opinionate

    in a world of posts,
    untethered,
    away from me
    gone, awaiting its return,
    alone.

Leave a Reply

