“I Wonder If I Can Create Art”

Poet

 

 

 

 

 

Here, while sitting beside writers and artists,
and listening to a legendary artist talk about
her life and her art, I wonder if I myself can
create art, too. I wonder if I can become an artist and
create things beautiful and true. I have written dozens

of verses in my life, but I feel I have not yet written
a single piece of authentic art. So here I am now,
sitting up properly, listening carefully, smiling,
laughing when appropriate, scanning the faces
of the crowd of real artists, old and new, inhaling

the air breathed by masters and students of the craft,
literally rubbing elbows with some of them; and I
wait, I wait for that spark, that throb, that tiny pulse
inside me that might propel me and urge me
to finally write that ever elusive animal called art.

Leave a Reply

