My 500 Words: Day 2

My 500 WordsMy goal for the My 500 Words writing challenge is simple: To wake up early every single day for 31 days and write at least 500 words. And I want to take it beyond the one month that is required and make it a life-long habit.

This is part of my over-all goal for this year, which is to write at least one essay, one short story, and four poems every month; and to get at least two short stories and three poems published in a national magazine before the year ends.

On top of that, I also want to get admitted into the Silliman University National Writers Workshop in Dumaguete, which is one of the best and well-known writing workshops in the country, either this year or in 2015.

Sounds lofty? You bet.

But I believe I can do it. With hard work, discipline, persistence, and of course, God’s grace, I believe I can do it.

One of my intellectual goals, too, which is related to writing, is to become an intelligent reader. This year, I plan to read more and better. The book may or may not be related to the craft of writing — it can be a novel or collection of poems. Recently, I finished reading P. G. Wodehouse’s My Man Jeeves. It was hilarious. It was my first time to read him. I love his style and sense of humor. I wish I could imitate him. And Carver, too, and Chekhov.

So what I want to do is read at least two books a month. I hope to review them as well.

I just began reading The Modern Library Writer’s Workshop by Stephen Koch. I love it so far.

I was a terrible reader last year. I think I only finished 8 books. Eight books! If you are a true bibliophile, you will find that shocking. But I did read/listened to a lot of short stories and poems — I listened to the New Yorker Fiction Podcast and Public Radio International’s Selected Shorts.

What else? (You see, I’ve been glancing at the word counter the whole time I’ve been typing this blog post. I’m trying to hit 500 words. It looks like I’ve just ran out of things to say!)

Leave a Reply

