What I don’t like about Raymond Carver’s characters

Where I'm Calling FromA few reasons why I don’t like most, if not all, of Raymond Carver’s characters:

1. They drink a lot;
2. They smoke a lot;
3. They swear a lot;
4. They’re weak and messed up; and
5. They’re lost and/or aimless.

I like Carver’s writing style because it’s spare; I learn a lot from it and I want to imitate it. I like his sense of humor. But, boy, are his stories depressing. His characters are so miserable. Isn’t literature suppose to edify us, lift us up, or help us transcend every day reality? His stories make me feel like I’m trapped in a quick sand I can’t get out of.

Leave a Reply

