It’s National Short Story Writing Month, 2013!

National Short Story Writing MonthIt’s National Short Story Writing Month in the US, and perhaps elsewhere in the world! I’m participating! I’m still a newbie to short story writing, and that excites me, plus the fact that the idea of writing at least four short stories in one month (which seems to be the rule for the project) is so out of this world for me, like NaPoWriMo was a month ago. And yet I did that. Now, I want to do this. So, I’ll be writing one short story a week starting next week, and maybe a few times per week I’ll also be experimenting with flash fiction. I’d like to personally define flash fiction as a story with is at least 500 words, and a short story as a story with at least a thousand words. (There seems to be no consensus as to the word count for flash fiction and short stories, or I could be wrong.)

I’ll be making use of “writing prompts”. There’s plenty around the Web. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

