“The Fall”

Raven

 

 

 

 

 

 

I remember
Falling.
I was playing
On the bed
And I just
Rolled off
To my side
And fell.
The fat pillow
Fell
With me
But soundlessly
Whereas I
I shrieked
In terror
And pain.
Dada rushed
To pick me
Up and he
Sang to me
With tremor
In his voice
And fear in
His eyes
While I
Swallowed my
Tears.
He pressed my
Head to
His chest
And he was
Murmuring in
Between breaths.
He called
Mama and
They all crowded
Around me
While I laid
Beside Mama
To suck my milk.

Leave a Reply

