Some thoughts on Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

Mansfield Park I enjoyed the story, but not as I did Austen’s first two novels. Now I’m down to three. I can’t wait to read Emma next.

As with Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice, the central themes of this novel are, of course, love, marriage, money, and above all, the importance of having a good character (possessing principles and following them) and a sound mind. Every time I read Austen, I always have this desire to improve my mind and character.

Fanny Price is unlike her other heroines. She’s not very confident and assertive like Elizabeth Bennet or Elinor Dashwood, but she possesses a character that is constant and a mind that is pure.

My Rating: 4/5
Date Read: December 24, 2012 – February 17, 2013

Leave a Reply

