Extremely Short Fictions*: Superman

I ran as fast as my short legs could carry me, across the rice field, at noon, with a Good Morning face towel as my cape, and with nary a care in the world. My parents were working in the mining compound up there in the mountain near the town, and I was left with my lolo and lola. Above me, the sky was clear, and there was no one else around to bother me.

Suddenly, I could feel the ground no longer, and I dropped the bamboo stick I was holding; it landed fifteen seconds later on top of a mango tree. Without knowing how to steer my flight, I ended up in a huge rain cloud.

“What took you so long, dearest?” my mom said to me, and she hugged me.

*This is just me practicing/ experimenting (read: having fun) with fiction. I’ll be writing stories with no more than six sentences.

Leave a Reply

