Book Review: The Sandman, Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman

The stories were interesting, but dark and disturbing. There were also scenes which were graphic and violent (especially in “24 Hours”). This is not something I can recommend to my son when he grows up.

The volume has 8 parts:

Sleep of the Just (#1)
Imperfect Hosts (#2)
Dream a Little Dream of Me (#3)
A Hope in Hell (#4)
Passengers (#5)
24 Hours (#6)
Sound and Fury (#7)
The Sound of Her Wings (#8)

The plot (Spoilers ahead!)

The protagonist is Dream, the personification of the unconscious or subconscious mind. Actually, he has many other names: Morpheus, the Sandman, the Prince of Stories, etc. He is one of the Endless (immortals), the others (his siblings) being Death, Desire, Destiny, and etc. He rules the realm of dreams and nightmares.

Frederick Burgess is the leader of an occult society. He wants to capture Death so that he, and the rest of humanity, may live for eternity. But he ends up catching Dream instead.

Dream is stripped of his tools and raiment and is imprisoned in a crystal cage for many decades. He manages to escape long after Frederick Burgess dies.

Without his tools (his bag of sand, helm, and ruby), he is almost powerless, so he sets off to find them and bring them back. In the process, he meets John Constantine, Lucifer and the lords and armies of Hell, and Dr. Destiny.

He is able to retrieve almost all of his things in the end.

My Rating: 2/5
Date Read: July 20-22, 2012


3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sandman, Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s