Book Review: Maus II by Art Spiegelman

 Alright, what I want to do next, in the coming days or weeks, is watch Der Untergang, Schinder’s List, and documentaries about the Holocaust and just re-learn and know more about it. I’ve seen the Steven Spielberg film a long time ago and saw several documentaries about WW2, but I want to re-visit the subject.

I got teary-eyed a few times while reading this second book. What an amazing story of survival! It almost sounds like fiction. But it’s not.

The accounts of violence, brutality, murder, and genocide are harrowing, and its effect upon me was visceral. I appreciate Vladek’s honesty in telling his story, and Art’s candor in relating it.

My Rating: 4/5
Date Read: August 4-6, 2012

Leave a Reply

