Learning Philosophy of Religion

I will be listening to Faith and Reason: The Philosophy of Religion by Peter Kreeft (The Modern Scholar). Looks fascinating. Here’s the description:

Through the ages, mankind has pursued questions of faith in something beyond the world of ordinary experience. Is there a God? How can we explain the presence of evil? Do humans, or human souls, live on after death? Is there a hell? The following lectures examine these eternal questions and present the most compelling arguments for and against God’s existence, the seeming conflicts between religion and science, and the different truth-claims of the world’s most popular religions. By delving into the major characteristics of world religions, including Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, and Buddhism, mankind’s association with the many different varieties of religious practice is brought to light. Above all, Faith and Reason: The Philosophy of Religion lays the groundwork for a rational approach to pursuing questions of faith—and at the same time provides a better understanding of religion’s ongoing importance in the realm of human experience.

I have always been interested in Philosophy of Religion, but I haven’t really read or studied any POR book or textbook. Perhaps this is a good place to start.

What’s awesome about courses like these and the ones by The Great Courses (formerly The Teaching Company) is that they are taught by great, well-respected, highly knowledgeable and competent professors from top universities in the US! I will virtually be entering a classroom or auditorium and have the opportunity to listen to these great teachers talk about awesome subjects!

And that is what I want to do for the rest of my life. I want to be a “modern scholar”. I want to continually read, study, listen to/ watch lectures and courses, think, write, and talk about ideas and knowledge. I want to cultivate a healthy life of the mind, for myself and for my family and kids. I want to constantly develop my intellectual life so that I will be conversant about the great subjects of philosophy, science, literature, and the humanities in general. It’s part of fulfilling what it means to be human, and more importantly, what it means to love God with all my mind.

2 thoughts on “Learning Philosophy of Religion

  1. Wow….thanks so much for posting about this. I’m looking forward to seeing what you write – and I’m definitely going to check out the “The Great Courses” myself!

    1. Thanks Rebelsprite!

      Yeah, both the TMS and TGC courses are great!

      BTW, the guide book for Peter Kreeft’s Faith and Reason course is available for free at The Modern Scholar web page.

Leave a Reply

